Happy Siberian 2015!

Soviet Square, Ulan-Ude, decked out for 2015.

Soviet Square, Ulan-Ude, decked out for 2015. The central “avenue” you see is the terminus of an ice slide 75 yards behind me.

Happy 2015! We are getting close to the New Year here in Ulan-Ude, it is just over two hours away. I went out in -15 F to capture some of the festive Siberian spirit. I have photographed in colder, but I admit my fingers turned to bricks, and I had resort to sticking those ice bricks in my pants, I mean IN MY PANTS. You dance a bit, but you can warm up frozen photographer’s appendages fast!

Our Siberians are bundled in all types of fur, from reindeer hide boots, to sable coats and fox, rabbit or hats of mink. Ice is king during the New Year, and right this moment kiddies and their Moms and Pops alike are sliding down ice slides with shrieks of glee. The first round of celebratory fireworks have met their match so to speak, but there are numerous rounds to come. A Very Happy New Year to you, from us on the steppe! Next up, Christmas! Russia celebrates Christmas day on the seventh of January.

Fireworks bust over Lenin's head to cheer the hearts of the people.

Fireworks bust over Lenin’s head to cheer the hearts of the people.

2015 is the year of the goat. And that is who you see lit and enthroned in ice with the Opera theater in the background.

2015 is the year of the goat. And that is who you see lit and enthroned in ice with the Opera theater in the background.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/getting-seasonal/

9 thoughts on “Happy Siberian 2015!

  1. I hope you are submitting these to NatGeo. They definitely need to put you on staff! I hear their photogs spend a lot of time with frozen hands in their pants too…you’ll fit right in!

    All the best!
    Chris

    • Thanks bro! Actually most of my images were a bust. My main lens is giving me fits, and clarity is severely lacking. It may be damaged, since it hit the ground during a night shoot this fall. Grrrr. . . I don’t know how I will resolve that over here. Looks like I will be my own zoom, using one of Yulia’s prime lenses. It would be a dream to work for Nat Geo. I still have a ways to go to really hang in that league. But all in all, I am having a great time shooting out here! How is your photography developing? Been doing some writing?? And how is “city” life treatin’ you guys?

    • Thanks Hoss, you always have something good to say. I appreciate that bro. How’s Montana winter treatin’ ya? How cold has it got to?

    • It isn’t even cold yet! I was dressed a bit light tonight. Luckily there was a warm joint selling spiced wine right on the square. That is a brand new development in these parts. Happy New Year Jet!

    • Hey, thank you Jet! Somehow I don’t always see comments. The temps are awesome! The colder the better. Happy New Year one month in! Alex

Leave a Reply

