The “Great” Visa Game

Friends, I am in Mongolia. Ulaanbaatar to be exact. As is often the case, I am here to get a new Russian visa. A visa is an official document issued through an embassy, that proves you have permission to enter, and temporarily stay in the territory of the state which that embassy represents. In the case of Russia, when a visa expires, you must leave the country and apply for a new visa at any Russian embassy.
When I come to Ulaanbaatar, I can always expect an “adventure” because the requirements that need to be met in order to receive a visa are always changing. The reasoning behind the continuously changing requirements remains unclear and the embassy seems to promote a policy of vagueness. I had hoped to return to Russia by this Friday, but it now looks as if I will be here almost three weeks instead of one. Thankfully, I love Mongolia, and I can spend time with my sister. Please do pray that God will see it through.

Leave a Reply

